Starting the Year With the End in Mind

Call it ‘jumping the gun‘ if you want …..it’s 2am right now on New Year’s Day (2011)….everybody’s gone….the kid is asleep…..I’d really like to have some people over and hang a little bit more but…..the  only thing on my mind right now is New Year’s Day…..2012!

While people across the world are partying, celebrating, visiting/traveling I’m too excited to do anything other than what I’m doing. I’m not ‘working‘ as if I have a deadline early Monday morning or I just trying to squeeze in a little extra  effort to close a sale next week. I’m not being a workaholic or a socially dead busybee. What I am doing right now, writing, is the best leisure I can find to do at this very moment.

Here’s a few reason’s why:

  • I love writing. It is my passion and my craft.
  • I envision great blogging influences such as Everett Bogue, Chris Guillebeau, and Adam Baker sitting at a desk somewhere with a laptop and a glass of earl grey tea some years ago just like I am now. Not for money or selfish ambition but because they love what they do and wanted to pursue it at every free moment to reach people and make a lasting impact. I believe the difference between a blogger and what Seth Godin calls a modern day tribal leader is that while a blogger blogs solely to express themselves, a tribal leader begins with a vision of breaking out of molds, embracing freedom, and leading a boatload of people along with them.

Sean’s advice: “Work now when no one else will, and live the rest of your life like no one  else can.” A secret for those who go from good to great.

I’m more excited about the end of 2011 than the beginning because frankly folks….today is fun, but tomorrow is always more exciting when you have a vision!

So here is a one-word snapshot of my agenda for the year:  INFLUENCE.

Generate INFLUENCE. Sustain INFLUENCE. Spread INFLUENCE.

How about you? What is it that you could accomplish this year that would bring tears to your eyes?

If you had an unlimited budget and a free schedule, what project would you start to change the lives of people around you and support your family at the same time?

Share your comments and let me know what the end of your year should look like……..

Don’t forget to connect with me on Twitter and Facebook

2 Comments

Filed under MY JOURNEY UPSTREAM

2 responses to “Starting the Year With the End in Mind

  1. Indy

    I think I’m more excited for 2012 as well because by the end of this year I am not going to be the same person I am right now. My life won’t be the same and as frightening as it is, it is wonderful to know that I have a plan and a vision and more importantly that it is being lived out. 2011 will be a year of greater action, intention, influence and purpose. By the time 2012 gets here I want to know without a shadow of a doubt that the things I did were generated with purpose and vision from the things I eat to what I say (ie. what I take in to what I put out)

Leave a comment